Email address obfuscation in effect -- please
click here to turn it off.
[
Date Prev][
Date Next][
Thread Prev][
Thread Next][
Date Index][
Thread Index]
Ports 80 and 144 ;-)
I don't know yet. For now we'll be blocking access to that website, I suspect, but ideally you would block it from sending out its message in case some idiot brought it in on disk or something.
Unfortunately, it seems to be at IP address 66.151.128.9 and 66.54.249.38, and probably elsewhere too.
9 o0-1jp1.sfo001bd02.yipes.com (66.7.154.133) 197.967 ms 71.881 ms 65.499 ms
10 o0-sfo1bd2.scl002bd02.yipes.com (66.7.154.162) 73.864 ms 61.524 ms 63.362 ms
11 o7-2bd2.scl007ap01.yipes.com (66.7.154.5) 59.999 ms 116.508 ms 60.099 ms
12 66.54.249.38 (66.54.249.38) 66.613 ms 158.042 ms 64.382 ms
(plaxo.com)
10 border1.ge0-0-bbnet1.sje.pnap.net (66.151.144.4) 39.612 ms 43.952 ms 45.555 ms
11 www.plaxo.com (66.151.128.9) 39.308 ms 40.101 ms 40.108 ms
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Bob Avery-Babel [mailto:EMAIL:PROTECTED]
> Sent: Tuesday, September 09, 2003 6:35 PM
> To: MLUG Members
> Subject: RE: [MLUG] plaxo
>
>
> What ports/etc are you blocking at the firewall to stop it?
>
> Just curious. Bob
>
> ---------- Original Message ----------------------------------
> From: "Ross, Matthew" <EMAIL:PROTECTED>
> Reply-To: MLUG Members <EMAIL:PROTECTED>
> Date: Tue, 9 Sep 2003 18:20:30 -0500
>
> >Thankfully not. I'm very glad you mentioned it though. I've
> emailed my boss and our network admin to have plaxo blocked
> at our firewall. As the second article mentioned, even if its
> not going to abuse what its gathering, anybody else can do it
> a lot more easily right behind them. Imagine someone hacking
> their contact update server for a day, and just capturing all
> the email addresses that are sent in. Aside from that, the
> send to all contacts would be horrible for networks like ours
> where the whole campus directory is in the contact list.
> >
> >> -----Original Message-----
> >> From: Ryan Thornton [mailto:EMAIL:PROTECTED]
> >> Sent: Tuesday, September 09, 2003 5:45 PM
> >> To: MLUG Members
> >> Subject: [MLUG] plaxo
> >>
> >>
> >> Is anyone else starting to see this plaxo crap?
> >>
> >> http://www.plaxo.com/downloads
> >>
> >> I'm guessing it's spyware oriented but this is all I can find,
> >> http://www.wired.com/news/technology/0,1282,56322,00.html
> >> http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,4149,905467,00.asp
> >>
> >> I'm suprised my spamassassin didn't catch it.
> >
> >It's plain text, and from a luser that has you in their
> contact list already. Whats spamassassin going to find in it?
> >
> >_______________________________________________
> >members mailing list
> >EMAIL:PROTECTED
> >http://mlug.missouri.edu/mailman/listinfo/members
> >
> _______________________________________________
> members mailing list
> EMAIL:PROTECTED
> http://mlug.missouri.edu/mailman/listinfo/members
>
_______________________________________________
members mailing list
EMAIL:PROTECTED
http://mlug.missouri.edu/mailman/listinfo/members