MLUG: RE: [MLUG - DISCUSSION] extremely annoying 'hooker' messages
RE: [MLUG - DISCUSSION] extremely annoying 'hooker' messages
Email address obfuscation in effect -- please click here to turn it off.

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
It still looks like a tracert resolves the address to someplace in Texas,
Carrolton, I think.  Looks like I would try Charter Communications to see if
that person on that addess is spamming through North Korea.  I thought I
read somewhere that the address in the brackets ( [] ) weren't able to be
faked.  More information, please.
Duane Hargus

> -----Original Message-----
> From: EMAIL:PROTECTED
> [mailto:EMAIL:PROTECTED]On Behalf Of Mike Miller
> Sent: Tuesday, July 09, 2002 1:27 PM
> To: MLUG discussion
> Subject: RE: [MLUG - DISCUSSION] extremely annoying 'hooker' messages
> 
> 
> On Tue, 9 Jul 2002, Hargus, Duane wrote:
> 
> > > Received: from smtp0492.mail.yahoo.com (CM61256-A 
> [66.190.76.145]) by
> > > ns.wishit.co.kr
> >
> > Um am I reading this header wrong, or is Yahoo using 
> Charter Communications
> > out of Texas for their isp?  A little help reading this 
> would be nice for
> > the newbies hehe
> > (Charter Communications (NETBLK-FTWRTH-TX-66-190-064) 
> FTWRTH-TX-66-190-064
> > 66.190.64.0 - 66.190.79.255)
> 
> Info on that netblock is below.  It's hard to know what it 
> means, but I
> think it means that line of the header is faked.  
> ns.yahoo.com can't find
> smtp0492.mail.yahoo.com or 66.190.76.145, and neither can 
> ns1.charter.com
> or ns2.charter.com.  So I think, still, that it's the Koreans faking a
> message header.  The message might have nothing to do with Charter or
> Yahoo.
> 
> Mike
> 
> 
> Charter Communications (NETBLK-FTWRTH-TX-66-190-064)
>    12405 Powerscourt Dr.
>    St. Louis, MO 63131
>    US
> 
>    Netname: FTWRTH-TX-66-190-064
>    Netblock: 66.190.64.0 - 66.190.79.255
> 
>    Coordinator:
>       Charter Communications  (ZC119-ARIN)  
> EMAIL:PROTECTED
>       314-965-0555
> 
>    Domain System inverse mapping provided by:
> 
>    NS1.CHARTER.COM              24.196.241.11
>    NS2.CHARTER.COM              24.213.60.79
> 
> --
> To unsubscribe, go to http://mlug.missouri.edu/members/edit.php
> 
> Archives are available at http://mlug.missouri.edu/list-archives/
> 
--
To unsubscribe, go to http://mlug.missouri.edu/members/edit.php

Archives are available at http://mlug.missouri.edu/list-archives/