MLUG: RE: [MLUG - DISCUSSION] extremely annoying 'hooker' messages
RE: [MLUG - DISCUSSION] extremely annoying 'hooker' messages
Email address obfuscation in effect -- please click here to turn it off.

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
On Tue, 9 Jul 2002, Hargus, Duane wrote:

> > Received: from smtp0492.mail.yahoo.com (CM61256-A [66.190.76.145]) by
> > ns.wishit.co.kr
>
> Um am I reading this header wrong, or is Yahoo using Charter Communications
> out of Texas for their isp?  A little help reading this would be nice for
> the newbies hehe
> (Charter Communications (NETBLK-FTWRTH-TX-66-190-064) FTWRTH-TX-66-190-064
> 66.190.64.0 - 66.190.79.255)

Info on that netblock is below.  It's hard to know what it means, but I
think it means that line of the header is faked.  ns.yahoo.com can't find
smtp0492.mail.yahoo.com or 66.190.76.145, and neither can ns1.charter.com
or ns2.charter.com.  So I think, still, that it's the Koreans faking a
message header.  The message might have nothing to do with Charter or
Yahoo.

Mike


Charter Communications (NETBLK-FTWRTH-TX-66-190-064)
   12405 Powerscourt Dr.
   St. Louis, MO 63131
   US

   Netname: FTWRTH-TX-66-190-064
   Netblock: 66.190.64.0 - 66.190.79.255

   Coordinator:
      Charter Communications  (ZC119-ARIN)  EMAIL:PROTECTED
      314-965-0555

   Domain System inverse mapping provided by:

   NS1.CHARTER.COM              24.196.241.11
   NS2.CHARTER.COM              24.213.60.79

--
To unsubscribe, go to http://mlug.missouri.edu/members/edit.php

Archives are available at http://mlug.missouri.edu/list-archives/