MLUG: RE: [MLUG - DISCUSSION] extremely annoying 'hooker' messages
RE: [MLUG - DISCUSSION] extremely annoying 'hooker' messages
Email address obfuscation in effect -- please click here to turn it off.

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
See remarks below
> [mailto:EMAIL:PROTECTED]On Behalf Of Mike Miller
> Subject: RE: [MLUG - DISCUSSION] extremely annoying 'hooker' messages
> 
> On Tue, 9 Jul 2002, Ross, Matt wrote:
> 
> > We can't legally flood them, but we can bounce their email back.  I
> > doubt it will do anything though.  They're not recieving on the
> > addresses they give.
> 
> 
> Right.  I think the e-mail really originated in Korea and the true
> originating address does not appear in the message header at 
> all.  The AOL
> addresses are fakes.  I see this in the header indicating 
> that the message
> originated at yahoo.com and then was relayed by 'wishit' in Korea:
> 
> Received: from smtp0492.mail.yahoo.com (CM61256-A [66.190.76.145]) by
> ns.wishit.co.kr

Um am I reading this header wrong, or is Yahoo using Charter Communications
out of Texas for their isp?  A little help reading this would be nice for
the newbies hehe
(Charter Communications (NETBLK-FTWRTH-TX-66-190-064) FTWRTH-TX-66-190-064
66.190.64.0 - 66.190.79.255)


> 
> But I don't know if I believe that.  Isn't it possible that the mail
> originated in Korea and even the yahoo.com address is faked?
> 
> Mike
>
--
To unsubscribe, go to http://mlug.missouri.edu/members/edit.php

Archives are available at http://mlug.missouri.edu/list-archives/